The Mind | What is it and how does it work?

Our mind, our mindset is a huge topic I’m addressing on my blog. It is this enormous entity, which covers so much more than we can even imagine. In fact, our perception on what the mind actually is can be regarded as limited. Some of you would try to describe it as thoughts, logic, rational part, intellect, mechanics in the brain – these are attempts to rationalize this mystical aspect called “mind” by our own intellect.

As there definitely is a significant difference between the brain and the mind and as there are so many attempted definitions and explanations out there, I want to dive into this jungle of information and share with you the essence I personally took out of it.

So, before we dive deeper into further topics relating to our mind in my next articles, first of all we should take a look at our perception of the mind itself: What is it really? How does it work? How is it related to our physical entity? Does a definition even exist? And what is the yogic perception of this non-visible phenomenon that we as a western population call “our mind”?

Mind.
A beautiful servant. A dangerous master.
(Osho)

Learn, expand and simply enjoy these shared lines of mine … let’s dive head-first into this fascinating topic!

 

 

 

 

 

~ What is the mind? ~


There are two approaches in trying to define “mind”, if you go ahead and compare the more western science approach and the ancient cultural, rather spiritual approach. Yet on some level, spirituality and science intertwine with each other.

A rational definition says that you can imagine, think, study and form ideas with the power of your mind. It is related to your brain and functions on a set of cognitive faculties. This perception may regard emotions more subjective and “separated” from the mind. But what separates one from the other?

I once heard a beautiful definition, rather spiritually related, which says: The mind is a fluctuation of the universal consciousness, for every thought is connected through the global collective consciousness, which is further connected to the universal consciousness, which contains all thoughts and knowledge. Our fluctuations go from extremely positive to violently negative energy. There are even suggestions that say your mind isn’t localized to your body, it may exist externally or in different areas or parts of your physical entity.

“You are where your mind is.”
(Radhanath Swami)

You’re probably doubting or not able to agree with any of these approaches, as the first one sounds too limited and the second one a little “spooky” to you. There is one definition I very resonate with, for you can grasp it as a rather understandable explanation and it is widely accepted as well. It says that the mind is essentially comprised of two parts; you’ve probably heard of those: the conscious part, which represents only around 10% of the total volume of the mind and the subconscious part that lies below the level of conscious awareness and comprises the dominant volume.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Conscious and subconscious mind ~


You probably agree with this approach of having a conscious and subconscious part of the mind. As the conscious level only constitutes a very small portion of our mental processes, it can’t be used synonymously with the word “mind”. Meaning, all of the thoughts you realize consciously throughout the day are a tiny little part of your complete mind, you might compare it to the peak of an iceberg that can be seen above the surface of the water, whereas the huge subconscious part has its almost infinite roots underneath. Another metaphor you can imagine is the fluctuating waves on the surface of the oceans seen as your conscious mind and the tremendously deep ocean beyond as your subconscious mind.

The fascinating world of the subconscious mind can be further divided into three parts, to give you a more clear understanding:

First, we have the primitive or primal mind, which represents our automatic nervous systems. Thus, it controls our physiology, all biological processes, our fear response, etc.

Secondly, we have the upper sub-consciousness part, also called our internal computer or autopilot. It works on programs we’re streaming and plays them over and over again. Especially in the first 7-8 years of our life, this internal disc records everything it gets in touch with outside of us. These manifestations comprise our personalities, attitudes, values, beliefs, they represent our habits, govern most of our behaviors and emotions. This part needs to be programmed, for it gets programmed anyway, mostly automatically and independently, if we do not pay attention to our thoughts, actions, and habits. We can also call it the “unconscious mind” as everything on this level happens without our awareness. It causes us to react to situations in a way we were programmed rather than respond to it with our full awareness. Thus, it plays a huge role how we are programmed: self-empowering or rather self-devaluating and self-deprecating? The more mindful we are, the more “present” we are, the greater ability we have to respond in a way that serves our growth, our well-being, and our greater good.

“Until you make the unconscious conscious,
it will direct your life and you will call it fate.”
(Carl Jung)

And thirdly, there is the lower sub-consciousness or “super-consciousness”, which can be referred to as spirit or soul or our true essence. It literally is our state of innate unconditional love and self-esteem, with which we were all born. A part that connects us to the energy of the universal creation.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Mind vs. Brain ~


A common perception of the mind is its localization to the brain. But let’s take a more detailed look on this presumption: the brain is a physical organ within our body. It represents symbolically a qualia networks, meaning the subjective perception of the world through our sensory systems, in a living entity. However, the mind goes far beyond this – as you could call it – “limited” perception.

“The mind is in every cell of your body.”
(Candace Pert)

As we perceive our head, in fact, our brain to be the center of the thinking process, it seems obvious to put the mind into this physical area and equate it with the brain. That might be correct, at least to some extent. However, our mind goes far beyond the mere process of thinking and perceiving the world through the physical senses. Let’s compare these two parts directly with each other:

  • As the brain consists of nerve cells and blood vessels and moreover, has a definite shape, the mind does not; but it might rather be conceived as an energetic, non-visible fluid.
  • The brain is the center of the nervous system. That means, it interacts via nerve cells with the periphery of our organism, it coordinates movements, thoughts, and feelings. On the other hand, the mind refers to a person’s understanding of things without any relation to our physical entity. Actually, it refers to his conscience.
  • The brain functions as a mirror for the physical universe and it is conditioned. It relays information to the mind and from the mind to the senses. You can say it vibrates as an instrument to the mind.

When you think of your body in a relaxed state, sitting or lying down, yet your mind might be busy jumping from one thought to another; recalling an uncomfortable situation in the past or worrying about difficulties in the future – aren’t these indications that body and mind are not the same entity? Another example is that of the physical death when our brain as part of the body perishes as every other cell does. However, the consciousness as an invisible energy won’t vanish likewise. This is because energy, as has been scientifically proven, is unable to disappear.

The mind may be seen as a formless continuum and therefore not obstructed by physical objects. It is a conglomerate of all qualia experiences within consciousness and not limited to one’s subjective, sensory experience of the so-called objective reality.

 

 

 

~ The Yogic perception ~


As I personally learned about the perspective of Yoga on the mind during my YTTC in India, I’m curious to share with you this rather complex, but very interesting and truthful approach.

In the Yogic system, the mind is comprised of 16 parts, which are categorized in four fundamental areas:

  1. Buddhi (“intellect”): The intellect is a useful tool, a survival instrument, yet in modern society, we pay too much significance to it. You can compare it with a knife – everything is dissected. Modern science is coming out of human intellect: everything is dissected and wants to be understood from a reductionist perspective.
  2. Ahamkara (“identity”): This part includes everything you’re identified with, also translated as the “I am-ness”. Intellect is an instrument, which protects the identity you’ve taken on. Identity is an instrument, which allows the intellect to function in a certain way (as you perceive yourself). How consciously and how steadily your identity is created will determine the effectiveness of your intellect. Whether your intellect works productive or destructive is determined by Ahamkara – it can be regarded as the hand that holds the knife (Buddhi).
  3. Mana (“memory”): This memory holds every information that happens on this planet. It is the coordinator of the senses and the mental creations, such as thoughts or images. The energies of Mana are rather collected. We are who we are only because of the memories that we carry. Memories create patterns, which then create physical forms.
  4. Chitta (“storage of impressions”): You can perceive Chitta as this huge space that carries memories, experiences, information even from previous lifetimes, therefore all impressions within you. It might be very useful but can also cause difficulties. This part of your mind is always on, also when you’re asleep. It needs to be there as it keeps you alive; thus, it can be perceived as the huge dimension of our sub-consciousness. You’ll also find Chitta defined as “pure intelligence”, as a dimension of intelligence, which is the linking point to our consciousness. If you touch it, your intelligence will become boundless, you’ll receive access to everything, to the source of creation.

As the second yoga sutra says “Chitta Vritthi Nirodha”, the goal of practicing yoga in a holistic way is to still the mind in order to experience ultimate reality. As soon as all the busy thoughts in our mind are calm, we’re reaching a natural state of tranquility and will be able to move towards Self-realization.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Conclusion: The power of your mind ~


Coming up with a specific and general definition of the mind is a challenging task. As you can tell from this whole article, there are many perceptions that try to approach this complex topic of our mind. I may tell you that the mind is much more than you probably think it would be and – what’s further important – your mind has an incredible power you would not dare to believe.

I’d love to hear your opinion on this topic. Do you resonate with what I came up with?

The final words of this article will be dedicated to the Master of the mind, Buddha – simply absorb what he once said, let it dwell within you and reflect:

We are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think.
When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves.
(Buddha)

Om śānti śānti śānti!

Namasté,

yours Isabel!

4 thoughts on “The Mind | What is it and how does it work?”

  1. Liebe Isabel!

    Meine Antwort auf deine Frage: “Kannst du mit meinen Erläuterungen etwas anfangen?”, lautet:: “Jein”!!!!!!!!

    Die Begriffe Bewusstsein und Unterbewusstsein sind mir sehr vertraut ebenso Gehirn, Gedanken und Geist.

    Die kräftigste Aussage, meiner Meinung nach, ist die von Buddha, das du als Schluss-Zitat. eingesetzt hast. Das erklärt alles.

    LG von Mum!

    1. Liebe Mama,
      vielen Dank für deinen ehrlichen und lieben Kommentar zu diesem Artikel.

      Das Thema ist tatsächlich ein recht komplexes und sehr umfangreiches. Es war ehrlich gesagt ziemlich herausfordernd, meine persönliche Essenz so kompakt und verständlich wie möglich niederzuschreiben. Aber wie du auch sagst: kurze Worte, die eine Menge Weisheit in sich tragen (s. Buddhas Zitat), sind oft aussagekräftiger als lange, umfassende Erläuterungen.

      Ganz liebe Grüße,
      Isabel!

  2. Dear Isabel,
    I would like to share my own experience of my own college days. Once we did a project of Brain Computer Interface just to prove how can one be in resonance with the Mother Earth. We recorded brain waves of a monk doing meditation and yes we noted some conclusions. The Earth actually sings or hum at a particular frequency which sometimes get variated due to tectonics plates movements. So with meditation the monk tried to reduce the frequency of brain waves to as close as to the earth frequency. Although it was highly difficult and theoretically one have to dead to actually listen to the hum. Since it was not at all possible, so the experiment conclusion were not complete, but yes we noted some pretty amazing phenomenas
    1. You can listen to the earth and talk. Even Earth is a complete living being just like humans. Even trees have feelings and when we cut them, they feel pain in a different way though and they also talk.
    2. The Periodic Spikes of Brain Waves resonates with the objects around them (In the experiment).

    Well there were many more conclusions, the point was, our mind is actually unimaginable powerful, still unknown how much.

    Thanks
    Siddharth

    1. Hello, Siddharth!

      Thank you very much for the comment and especially for sharing your experience on this almost non-tangible topic of our mind.
      It really highlights the complexity of this topic and as you said, much of it is still unknown … as we predominantly try to explain everything with our “limited perception” of the brain. Further articles on this topic will be available soon and I’m always excited about people’s view/ perception/ approach/ opinion. So, I’d love to hear from you again! 🙂

      Thanks a lot for sharing & Namasté,
      Isabel!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Holistic Health

Be friendly to your body so that the soul enjoys living in it. 
(Theresa von Ávila)

Isabel Maria

Mindset

Our thoughts create our reality.
(Dieter Broers)

Mind | Was ist dein Geist, Verstand, Gedankengut?

In meinem Blog geht es zum Wesentlichen um das weitreichende Thema „Mindset“, das heißt unseren Geist, Verstand, unser Gedankengut. Dabei handelt es sich um eine enorme, kaum greifbare Entität, die weitaus mehr umfasst als wir auf den ersten Blick denken. Tatsächlich ist unsere Auffassung über das Mindset mehr oder weniger beschränkt. Manche unter euch würden es vielleicht als Gedanken, Logik, den rationalen Verstand, Intelligenz oder als biochemische Mechanismen unseres Gehirns beschreiben – das sind alles rationale, durch unseren Intellekt gesteuerte Versuche, diesen mystischen Teil unseres Selbst – unser „Mind“ – zu definieren.

Gerade weil es einen Unterschied zwischen unserem Gehirn und unserem Mind gibt und gerade weil es so unendlich viele, teils verwirrende Versuche gibt, diese Entität zu erklären, möchte ich mich darin versuchen, ein wenig mehr Klarheit in diesen Informationsdschungel zu bringen und meine persönliche Essenz, welche ich bislang lernen konnte, mit dir zu teilen.

Bevor wir also tiefer in weitere Themen rund um unser Mind in den nächsten Artikeln einsteigen, möchte ich zu allererst den Begriff an sich genauer unter die Lupe nehmen: Worum handelt es sich, wenn wir von unserem Mind sprechen? Wie funktioniert dieses Phänomen und inwiefern bezieht es sich auf unsere physischen Entität? Gibt es überhaupt eine Definition? Und wie sieht der yogische Ansatz zu dem aus, was wir in der westlichen Gesellschaft als „Mind“ bzw. Verstand, Gedankengut oder Intelligenz bezeichnen?

Mind.
Ein wertvoller Diener. Ein gefährlicher Meister.
(Osho)

Lass dich bereichern, viel Freude beim Lesen meiner Gedanken…

 

 

 

 

 

~ Mind – worüber sprechen wir? ~


Wenn man den westlichen, wissenschaftlich basierten Ansatz und den uralten, kulturellen, eher spirituellen Ansatz miteinander vergleicht, kann man prinzipiell zwischen zwei Begriffsdefinitionen unterscheiden, wenn es um das Thema „Mind“ geht.

Die rationale Seite würde sagen, dass man mit der Kraft des Minds zur mentalen Fähigkeit, dem Denken, Lernen und Kreieren von Ideen imstande ist. Die Wissenschaft assoziiert diese Leistung mit unserem Gehirn, welche auf kognitiven Fähigkeiten beruht.

Eine spirituell bezogene Aussage, welcher ich neulich begegnet bin, würde sich an folgender Begriffserklärung versuchen: die Gedankenkraft stellt Fluktuationen des universellen Bewusstseins dar, denn jeder Gedanke ist mit dem globalen, kollektiven Bewusstsein verbunden, das wiederum alle Gedanken und alles Wissen in sich trägt. Die Fluktuationen unseres Minds reichen von extrem positiv zu gewaltsam negativer Energie. Es gibt sogar Behauptungen darüber, dass unser Mind nicht zwangsläufig in unserem Körper sitzt, sondern gegebenenfalls extern oder in unterschiedlichen Regionen unserer physischen Entität zu finden ist.

“Du bist dort wo deine Gedanken sind.”
(Radhanath Swami)

Vielleicht kannst du keinem dieser Beschreibungen so richtig zustimmen: die erste Definition scheint recht beschränkt zu klingen, die zweite eher „überirdisch“. Allerdings gibt es da eine Definition, die ich als besonders trefflich und verständlich empfinde; mit der man wahrscheinlich vielmehr etwas anfangen kann. Dieser Theorie nach gibt es zwei Teile unseres Minds, wahrscheinlich hast du auch schon davon gehört: unser Bewusstsein, das nur ca. 10% des gesamten Volumens unseres Minds ausmacht und das Unterbewusstsein, das sich unter der Ebene der bewussten Wahrnehmung befindet und den deutlich größeren Anteil ausmacht.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Bewusstsein und Unterbewusstsein ~


Die meisten von euch werden mit dem Ansatz des Bewusstseins und Unterbewusstseins schon vertraut sein und dem auch zustimmen. Da die bewusste Ebene unseres Denkens nur einen winzigen Teil dieser mentalen Fähigkeit ausmacht, kann man sie nicht als Synonym für den Begriff „Mind“ verwenden. Mit anderen Worten: alle Gedanken, die du bewusst den Tag über denkst bzw. mitverfolgen kannst, sind nur ein winziger Teil dessen, was sich in deinem Mind abspielt. Als ein guter Vergleich stellt die Spitze eines Eisbergs unser Bewusstsein dar, wohingegen der unendlich weite Teil unseres Unterbewusstseins in den Tiefen des Ozeans schlummert. Eine andere Metapher, die dir den Vergleich sehr gut veranschaulicht, ist der Ozean an sich: die Wellen auf der Oberfläche repräsentieren deine fluktuierenden, kontinuierlich bewegenden Gedanken des Bewusstseins und der unendlich tiefe und weitreichende Ozean darunter stellt dein Unterbewusstsein dar.

Die faszinierende Welt des Unterbewusstseins kann in 3 weitere Sparten unterteilt werden, um das Ganze etwas zu verdeutlichen:

Zum einen haben wir diesen Urinstinkt, den evolutionären Teil, welcher unser autonomes Nervensystem darstellt. Dieser steuert und koordiniert unsere Physiologie, alle biologisch ablaufenden Prozesse, unsere instinktive Reaktion auf Gefahr, etc.

Als zweites besitzen wir den auch als „unbewusst“ bezeichneten Teil, unseren inneren Computer bzw. Autopilot. Dieser arbeitet nach bestimmten Programmen, die wir ihm eingeben, die immer und immer wiederholt werden. Vor allem in den ersten 7-8 Lebensjahren wird diese „Festplatte“ mit allem, was wir im Außen aufnahmen, programmiert. Diese Muster prägen unsere Persönlichkeit, Auffassungen, Werte, Glaubens- und Verhaltensmuster sowie unsere Emotionen. Dieser Teil muss bzw. wird ohnehin eigenständig programmiert, sofern wir das Ganze ohne unsere Aufmerksamkeit laufen lassen. Welches Programm wir letztlich „abspielen“ spiegelt einen wesentlich Teil unserer Persönlichkeit wieder: verhalten wir uns eher selbstbewusst oder selbstabwertend? Je achtsamer wir im Moment leben, desto größer ist unsere Fähigkeit, auf Geschehnisse im Außen in einer Weise zu reagieren, die unserem und dem übergeordneten Wachstum und Wohl dienen.

„Bis du dem Unbewussten bewusst wirst,
wird es dein Leben steuern und du wirst es Schicksal nennen.“
(Carl Jung)

Und den dritte Teil nennen wir unser „Höheres Bewusstsein“, der Geist, unsere Seele oder unsere wahre Natur. Diesen Teil könnte man im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes als unsere Fähigkeit zur bedingungslosen Liebe und Selbstwertschätzung bezeichnen, mit der wir alle geboren wurden. Der Teil verbindet uns mit der Energie der universellen Schöpfung.

 

 

 

 

~ Mind vs. Gehirn ~


Eine vielfach angenommene Meinung besagt, dass unser Mind im Kopf bzw. Gehirn lokalisiert wird. Wollen wir diese Hypothese mal genauer unter die Lupe nehmen: Bei unserem Hirn handelt es sich um ein physisches Organ im Körper, das als ein Netzwerk fungiert, Sinnenreize von außen subjektiv verarbeitet und diese für die jeweilige Person widerspiegelt. Das Mind hingegen ist weitaus mehr als diese – man könnte sagen – „begrenzte Wahrnehmung“.

„Dein Geist befindet sich in jeder Zelle deines Körpers.“
(Candace Pert)

Da wir unseren Kopf, genauer gesagt unser Gehirn als das Zentrum unseres Denkprozesses ansehen, scheint es sehr offensichtlich zu sein, den Begriff des „Mind“ in diese physische Region einzuordnen. Das mag zu einem gewissen Anteil der Fall sein; allerdings stecken in unserem Mind weitaus mehr Teile als all jene Denkprozesse, die wir mit unserer physischen Entität betreiben und wahrnehmen. Lass uns diese zwei Teile mal direkt in Vergleich stellen:

  • Während das Gehirn aus Nervenzellen und Blutgefäßen besteht sowie eine bestimmte Form besitzt, können wir Selbiges nicht von unserem Geist behaupten. Dieser existiert vielmehr als eine nicht sichtbare Form von Energie.
  • Während unser Gehirn das Zentrum des Nervensystem darstellt und somit über Nervenbahnen mit der Peripherie unseres Körpers kommuniziert, Bewegungen koordiniert, Gedanken und Gefühle steuert, bezieht sich unser Mind eher auf die Erkenntnis, auf das Verstehen von Dingen, auf das Bewusstsein für diese Dinge.
  • Unser Gehirn stellt sozusagen einen Spiegel für die physische Welt dar und es ist konditioniert. Es überträgt Informationen an das Mind und vom Mind an unsere Sinne. Man könnte sagen, es interagiert wie ein Instrument mit dem Mind.

Wenn du dich beispielsweise in einem körperlich entspannten Zustand befindest, können deine Gedanken, Gefühle, Wahrnehmungen aber gleichzeitig sehr aktiv sein; du kannst dich mental in einer Situation der Vergangenheit befinden oder dich über mögliche Momente in der Zukunft sorgen – sind das vielleicht weitere Hinweise darauf, dass Körper und Geist zwei Entitäten zuzuordnen sind? Ein anderes Beispiel ist der physische Tod, bei dem unser Gehirn wie jede andere Zelle des Körpers abstirbt und somit seine Funktionen nicht mehr aufrecht erhalten kann. Unser Bewusstsein hingegen, als bereits beschriebene Energie, wird nicht ausgelöscht. Schließlich kann Energie nicht verschwinden, sondern nur in eine andere Form umgewandelt werden –  das besagt sogar ein wissenschaftlich untermauertes Gesetz.

Unser „Mind“ kann als formloses Kontinuum betrachtet und somit keiner Physis strikt zugeordnet werden. Es ist vielmehr ein Konglomerat oder Verbund an Erfahrungen im Rahmen des Bewusstseins und somit nicht auf die subjektive Wahrnehmung der sogenannten objektiven Realität einer Person beschränkt.

 

 

 

 

~ Die yogische Sichtweise ~


Während meines Yoga Teacher Trainings in Indien habe ich auch den yogischen Ansatz zum Thema Mind kennenlernen dürfen, der sich etwas komplexer, aber sehr interessant und meiner Meinung nach wahrheitsgetreu gestaltet. Diesen möchte ich gerne noch mit dir teilen.

Im Yoga umfasst unser Mind 16 Teile, darunter befinden sich vier fundamentale Bereiche:

  1. Buddhi („Intellekt“): Der Intellekt wird als ein nützliches Hilfswerkzeug angesehen, ein Instrument, ohne dem wir nicht überleben könnten; aber in unserer modernen Gesellschaft schenken wir ihm zu viel Aufmerksamkeit. Du kannst ihn mit einem Messer vergleichen, das alles zerlegt und seziert. Die Wissenschaft ist beispielsweise ein Produkt des menschlichen Intellekts: alles wird auseinandergenommen, analysiert und aus einer reduktionistischen Herangehensweise heraus möchte es verstanden werden.
  2. Ahamkara („Identität“): Dieser Teil beinhaltet alles, womit wir uns identifizieren („Ich bin“). Der Intellekt ist ein Instrument, das die von uns anerkannte Identität schützt bzw. aufrechterhält. Die Identität ist wiederum ein Instrument, auf Basis dessen der Intellekt funktioniert; aus der Sichtweise heraus, womit du dich identifizierst. Mit dem Bewusstsein, das deine Identität prägt, wirst du deinen Intellekt leiten; somit kann dieser für oder auch eher gegen dich arbeiten. Metaphorisch gesehen ist Ahamkara die Hand, die das Messer (Buddhi) hält.
  3. Mana („Gedächtnis“): Dieser Teil trägt alle Informationen, die auf dem Planeten ablaufen. Mana ist sozusagen ein Koordinator sowohl der Sinne als auch der mentalen Schöpfung. Seine Energien entsprechen eher der des Kollektivs. Wir sind aufgrund der kollektiven Informationen genau zu jener Person geworden, die wir nun sind. Die Informationen in diesem Gedächtnis erschaffen Muster, welche wiederum physische Formen erschaffen.
  4. Chitta („Speicher von Gedanken und Gefühlen“): Du kannst dir Chitta als einen gigantischen Raum vorstellen, der alle Erinnerungen, Erfahrungen, Informationen – sogar aus vorhergehenden Leben – all diese Eindrücke in dir speichert. Chitta kann sehr nützlich sein, aber auch Schwierigkeiten verursachen. Dieser Teil ist immer aktiv, auch wenn du schläfst. Das heißt, er übernimmt auch physisch essentielle Aufgaben. Du kannst diesen Aspekt als die unendlich große Dimension deines Unterbewusstseins betrachten. Chitta wird unter anderem auch als „reine Intelligenz“ bezeichnet, eine Dimension von Intelligenz, die uns Zugang zum (spirituellen) Bewusstsein verschafft. Wenn du diesen Zugang findest, wirst du grenzenlose Intelligenz erfahren und zu allem Zutritt haben, zum Ursprung der Schöpfung.

Der zweite Yoga Sutra beschreibt mit den Worten “Chitta Vritthi Nirodha” das Ziel von Yoga durch die ganzheitliche Praxis: unser Mind werde zur Ruhe gebracht, um das ultimative Bewusstsein zu erfahren. Sobald wir alle fluktuierenden Gedanken in unserem Geist beruhigt werden können, werden wir den natürlichen Zustand von Gelassenheit und Frieden erlangen und im Stande sein, uns in Richtung Selbst-Erkennung zu begeben.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Fazit: unser kraftvolle Geist ~


Eine konkrete und allgemeine Definition unseres „Mind“ niederzuschreiben ist eine ziemlich herausfordernde Angelegenheit. Wie du schon sehen kannst gibt es unterschiedliche Ansätze, welche dieses komplexe Thema aufgreifen und auf den Punkt bringen möchten. Was ich für mich feststellen konnte, ist die Tatsache, dass unser Mind deutlich mehr ist, als wir im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes „zu Denken vermögen.“ Was aber wahrscheinlich noch viel wichtiger ist: unser Mind hat eine enorme Kraft, die wir alle bei Weitem unterschätzen.

Mich würde deine Meinung zu dem Thema sehr interessieren. Kannst du mit meinen Erläuterungen etwas anfangen?

Zum Ende dieses Artikels möchte ich gerne den Meister des Minds zitieren, Buddha – nehme seine Worte auf, lasse sie in dir ruhen und reflektiere:

Wir sind, was wir denken. Alles, was wir sind, entsteht aus unseren Gedanken.
Wenn die Gedanken rein sind, folgt die Freude wie ein Schatten der nie verschwinde.
(Buddha)

Om śānti śānti śānti!

Namasté,

deine Isabel!

4 thoughts on “Mind | Was ist dein Geist, Verstand, Gedankengut?”

  1. Liebe Isabel!

    Meine Antwort auf deine Frage: „Kannst du mit meinen Erläuterungen etwas anfangen?“, lautet:: „Jein“!!!!!!!!

    Die Begriffe Bewusstsein und Unterbewusstsein sind mir sehr vertraut ebenso Gehirn, Gedanken und Geist.

    Die kräftigste Aussage, meiner Meinung nach, ist die von Buddha, das du als Schluss-Zitat. eingesetzt hast. Das erklärt alles.

    LG von Mum!

    1. Liebe Mama,
      vielen Dank für deinen ehrlichen und lieben Kommentar zu diesem Artikel.

      Das Thema ist tatsächlich ein recht komplexes und sehr umfangreiches. Es war ehrlich gesagt ziemlich herausfordernd, meine persönliche Essenz so kompakt und verständlich wie möglich niederzuschreiben. Aber wie du auch sagst: kurze Worte, die eine Menge Weisheit in sich tragen (s. Buddhas Zitat), sind oft aussagekräftiger als lange, umfassende Erläuterungen.

      Ganz liebe Grüße,
      Isabel!

  2. Dear Isabel,
    I would like to share my own experience of my own college days. Once we did a project of Brain Computer Interface just to prove how can one be in resonance with the Mother Earth. We recorded brain waves of a monk doing meditation and yes we noted some conclusions. The Earth actually sings or hum at a particular frequency which sometimes get variated due to tectonics plates movements. So with meditation the monk tried to reduce the frequency of brain waves to as close as to the earth frequency. Although it was highly difficult and theoretically one have to dead to actually listen to the hum. Since it was not at all possible, so the experiment conclusion were not complete, but yes we noted some pretty amazing phenomenas
    1. You can listen to the earth and talk. Even Earth is a complete living being just like humans. Even trees have feelings and when we cut them, they feel pain in a different way though and they also talk.
    2. The Periodic Spikes of Brain Waves resonates with the objects around them (In the experiment).

    Well there were many more conclusions, the point was, our mind is actually unimaginable powerful, still unknown how much.

    Thanks
    Siddharth

    1. Hello, Siddharth!

      Thank you very much for the comment and especially for sharing your experience on this almost non-tangible topic of our mind.
      It really highlights the complexity of this topic and as you said, much of it is still unknown … as we predominantly try to explain everything with our „limited perception“ of the brain. Further articles on this topic will be available soon and I’m always excited about people’s view/ perception/ approach/ opinion. So, I’d love to hear from you again! 🙂

      Thanks a lot for sharing & Namasté,
      Isabel!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Holistic Health

Lasst uns gut sein zum Körper, damit die Seele gerne in ihm wohne.
(Theresa von Ávila)

Isabel Maria

Mindset

Unsere Gedanken erschaffen unsere Realität. 
(Dieter Broers)