Plant-based nutrition #2 | Physical health benefits

“You are what you eat” – Have you heard this quote before? Ayurveda would adjust this statement to “You are what you digest”, as not only what we put into our mouth finally arrives in our body cells. The point is: Whatever you put into your mouth and digest will enter your bloodstream and literally become a part of yourself. Meaning, your physical body absorbs the tiniest parts of this food; it sends them into all of your cells where they build up mass and influence biochemical functions; it supports or harms DNA repair mechanisms, increases or decreases your immune function; it may open or dull your mind, etc. At this point I want to refer to our inseparable mind-body connection again: different kinds of foods affect your mental and emotional state in a different kind of way. But that will be a further topic in an upcoming article. 🙂

Before we dive deeply into the topic of a plant-based diet and its’ health effects on your “holistic Self”, I need to mention one important point: I’m not here to convince anyone to go completely plant-based, raw vegan or whatever. What I simply want to share with you is my knowledge and experience with the health benefits of plant foods. As I addressed by the approach of bio-individuality, I believe that everyone has different needs. However, every big nutritional institution recommends plant foods as the base, meaning 70-90 %, of our meals. So, let’s not argue about what kind of protein you take in for the last 10-20 % of your overall food intake. But let’s speak about this basic, dominant and important amount of our overall food intake, which is plants. And while doing so, I simply want to remind you of becoming or staying more conscious with your day-to-day choice of what you put into your mouth; what you eventually integrate with your holistic system, your precious temple.

“Your body is the biggest investment that you will ever make in your life.
Don’t abuse it.”

 

 

 

 

~ Plant foods: what’s inside? ~


Science shows us that the nutrients in our foods are what we absorb and thrive on:

  • On the one hand, there are the macro-nutrients, such as carbs, proteins, and fats.
  • On the other hand, we have the micro-nutrients, which are vitamins and minerals.

The nutrient density of whole plants is incredibly high, whereas its energy (“calorie”) density is comparably low. Meaning, we get loads of incredibly healthy substances without taking an excessive amount of calories in. Fruits are the primary source of vitamins, vegetables, nuts, seeds, legumes, and grains provide us with lots of minerals.

What’s more, plants contain two more health-promoting substance groups, which are fibers and phytochemicals.

  • Fibers are the non- or limited digestible parts which occur only in whole plant foods. They have numerous beneficial effects on our physical body. For example, fibers help to maintain a healthy digestion with regular bowel movements; it stimulates the saliva production, which is already the first step of digestion; it balances blood cholesterol and sugar levels as it is the only way to excrete excessive cholesterol.
  • Phytochemicals represent all the colors, smells, tastes from whole plants in their natural states. Although they are considered as non-nutritive, these tiny molecules have amazing impacts on our health as they have anti-inflammatory, anti-cancer, antioxidative, antibacterial, metabolic regulating effects and much more. Thus, eating plants is making a choice for your state of health every single day. It is an active act of preventing diseases.

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.”
(Hippocrates)

Therefore, dissecting plants and taking the scientifically based findings into account, eating plant foods do not only give you energy and nutrients. It supports your digestive system, your metabolism and it hydrates you because of its’ high water content.  But what’s the ultimate key: you are able to protect yourself from diseases as they are the only source for phytochemicals. A source that will boost your body’s ability to maintain repair mechanisms. You can really talk about food which has the power to heal yourself.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Nutrition and longevity ~


Having a look at epidemiological studies, we observe certain populations worldwide which are the overall masters when it comes to longevity. They still enjoy a tremendous amount of life quality in their eighties, nineties and even centuries. Have you heard of the blue zones before? These are the 5 regions on a global scale inhabited by population groups which have been studied very well by medical researchers, demographers, and anthropologists. People in those areas do live around 10 years longer than the average western person and they have 10 times more centenarians than any other place in the world. Disease and (early) mortality is not seen as “normal” as it is in our society, but they thrive on astonishing good health conditions within their very long lifetime. So, where do we find those people? Where are these blue zones?

  • Okinawa (Japan)
  • Ogliastra (Sardinia/Italy)
  • Ikaria (Greece)
  • Nicoya (Costa Rica)
  • Loma Linda (California)

So, what do they have in common? As you know: I never want to reduce anything to one single fact. Life quality is determined by a row of factors. But let’s start with their nutritional similarities because this factor definitely stands out with a great number of parallels.

They all eat a largely plant-based diet, based on vegetables, grains, nuts, legumes, and fruits. Okinawa’s population, for example, thrives on sweet potatoes as their primary starch source. Beans and lentils are very common among the centenarians, which is consumed daily. On average, 95 % of their diets consist of these plant sources. In addition, they might add very small amounts of fish or other animal products. Refined, processed foods do not play a role at all within their nutrition (Appel, 2008; Mishra, 2009). Plus, they do not overeat and/or fast regularly. For example, the Okinawa population stick to this wisdom, which says “Hara Hachi Bu”, translated as “Stop eating when you’re 80% full”.

Besides the food, they live with a committed life purpose which keeps them going day by day. These populations are engaged in strong relationships with friends and family. They exercise on a low-intensity level, but daily over long periods of time. Enough sleep, connection to nature – as they grow their own foods – and their spiritual devotion is further needed to be mentioned.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Nutrition and health conditions ~


Comparing these blue zones with our western society, obvious differences can be observed when it comes to health and well-being.

Nowadays, we’re facing severe chronic health conditions, especially in westerners, but also threshold countries are become increasingly affected. It starts with overweight, obesity and the metabolic syndrome, respectively as the precursors of further diseases: diabetes, cardiovascular diseases, gout, non-alcoholic fatty liver (NAFLD), osteoporosis, digestion issues, asthma and plenty of other health issues and autoimmune diseases. These are all forms of lifestyle and predominantly nutritional based diseases.

“Symptoms are not enemies to be destroyed
but sacred messengers who encourage us
to take better care of ourselves.”
(Jon Gabriel)

Looking again at research and populational based data, we can draw some conclusions and make correlations between diet forms and specific health parameters.

  • Starting with bodyweight or rather the BMI (body-mass-index) which represents the relation between your weight and height. This parameter is predominantly used in science to assess weight conditions. Epidemiological studies show that vegetarians have a lower BMI than meat eaters. Vegans do have an even lower BMI, which is categorized in the normal weight reference. The risk of becoming overweight in children is much lower in plant-based populations than in non-vegetarians (Spencer et al., 2003; Tonstad et al., 2009).
  • Mortality rates are much lower in populations on a plant-based diet compared with those not on non-vegetarian diets. High animal based protein intake is associated with a higher rate, whereas plant based protein intake is inversely connected to overall cause mortality in patients with at least one unhealthy lifestyle factor, e.g. smoking, overweight, etc. (Song et al., 2016).
  • Cardiovascular diseases are linked to dietary habits, physical inactivity, and tobacco consumption. It correlates with a diet high in saturated fats, salt, refined carbohydrates (sugar, white flour products) and a low intake of fruits and vegetables (WHO/FAO, 2002). Vegetarians and vegans do have healthier blood pressure, i.e. lower than omnivores and a 29 % lower risk of ischemic heart disease. In the Lifestyle Heart Trial, 82 % of patients which were diagnosed with heart disease followed a plant-based diet with moderate (10 % from calories) fat intake had proven regression of atherosclerosis. Some of them even reversed their condition (Tuso et al., 2013).
  • It has been shown that diabetes does not only occur less in vegetarians and vegans. It is possible to reduce symptoms and even bring patients off medication by putting them onto a whole-food plant-based diet which is moderate in fat intake (Barnard et al., 2006).

And this is just a quick little overview on the data and facts about what’s going on in the world. What I further want to address here again: eating a vegetarian or “vegan” diet is no per se healthy. Whole foods plant-based, unprocessed, natural, fresh and organic are qualities of what makes a diet precious.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Conclusion: Food choices and physical well-being ~


Eating affects every individual as we choose on average 2-3 times a day what enters our body, our entire system, what becomes “us”. Although it is probably not the one and only factor which affects our health, well-being and longevity; but it definitely has a major impact on all of these levels. Having a look at big scientific research papers, they truly outline the overall health benefits of a plant-based, whole foods diet in comparison to non-plant based nutritional approaches.

Making conscious food choices is an investment in your “Self”. The more connected you become with your food, the more aware you are of its’ impact on your body, mind, emotions, and spirit.

Nutrition is not supposed to become a dogma, a restrictive diet, a religion or any other kind of extreme. It is there to nourish us, to be enjoyed and to make life as well as our well-being, the feeling inside our bodies an even greater experience.

Thus, enjoy your food, whatever you want to eat. But choose wisely; choose in alignment with your values, with your gut feeling and in reflection with your own experiences.

Just the best for you, my friends!

Lots of love & Namasté,

yours Isabel!

 

 

Literature

Appel L.J. Dietary Patterns and Longevity – Expanding the Blue Zones. Circulation (2008). Vol. 118: 214-215.

Barnard N.D., Cohen J., Jenkins D.J.A., Turner-McGrievy G., Gloede L., Jaster B., Seidl K., Green, A.A., Talpers S. A Low-Fat Vegan Diet Improves Glycemic Control and Cardiovascular Risk Factors in a Randomized Clinical Trial in Individuals With Type 2 Diabetes. Diabetes Care  (2006). Vol. 29: 1777–1783.

Mishra B.N. Secret of Eternal Youth; Teaching from the Centenarian Hot Spots (“Blue Zones”). Indian Journal of Community Medicine (2009). Vol. 34(4): 273-275.

Song M., Fung T.T., Hu F.B., Willett W.C., Longo V., Chan A.T., Giovannucci E.L. Animal and plant protein intake and all-cause and cause-specific mortality: results from two prospective US cohort studies. JAMA Intern Med (2016). Vol. 176(10): 1453-1463.

Spencer E.A., Appleby P.N., Davey G.K., Key T.J. Diet and body mass index in 38000 EPIC-Oxford meat-eaters, fish-eaters, vegetarians and vegans. International Journal of Obesity (2003). Vol. 27: 728-734.

Tonstad S., Butler T., Yan R., and Fraser G.E. Type of Vegetarian Diet, Body Weight, and Prevalence of Type 2 Diabetes. Diabetes Care (2009). Vol. 32: 791– 796.

Tuso P.J., Ismail M.H., Ha B.P., Cartolotto C. Nutritional Update for Physicians: Plant-Based Diets. The Permanente Journal (2013). Vol. 17(2): 61-66.

WHO/FAO, 2002. Diet, nutrition and the prevention of chronic diseases: report of a joint WHO/FAO expert consultation: p81.

One thought on “Plant-based nutrition #2 | Physical health benefits”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Holistic Health

Be friendly to your body so that the soul enjoys living in it. 
(Theresa von Ávila)

Isabel Maria

Mindset

Our thoughts create our reality.
(Dieter Broers)

Pflanzenbasierte Ernährung #2 | Körperliche Gesundheit

„Du bist, was du isst“ – diese Aussage hast du bestimmt schon das ein oder andere Mal gehört, nicht wahr? Ayurveda würde den Satz ein klein wenig abwandeln und sagen „Du bist, was du verdaust.“ Schließlich kommt es nicht nur darauf an, was wir essen, sondern was letztlich in unserem Darm aufgenommen und in unsere Zellen transportiert wird. Fakt ist: Was auch immer du in deinen Mund steckst, verdaust und in dein Blutsystem aufnimmst, wird letztlich ein Teil von dir. Diese kleinsten Moleküle aus der Nahrung werden von deinem Körper aufgenommen und dienen deinen Zellen als Grundsubstanz. Sie beeinflussen zelluläre und biochemische Mechanismen; sie unterstützen oder schädigen deine DNA-Reparaturmechanismen; sie unterstützen oder schwächen dein Immunsystem; sie können deinen Geist benebeln oder öffnen, etc. In dem Zusammenhang möchte ich auch gleich wieder auf unsere Körper-Geist-Verbindung aufmerksam machen: Unterschiedliche Lebensmittel haben unterschiedliche Wirkungen auf deinen mentalen und emotionalen Zustand. Aber das wird ein separates Thema in einem der folgenden Artikeln. 🙂

Bevor wir nun tiefer in das Thema der pflanzenbasierten Ernährung und all seine Vorteile auf unseren „ganzheitliches Ich“ eingehen, möchte ich vorab noch eine wichtige Sache loswerden: Ich möchte mit diesen Informationen niemanden davon überzeugen, sich komplett pflanzlich zu ernähren, Rohveganer zu werden oder was auch immer. Das einzige, was ich mit dir teilen möchte, ist mein Wissen über und meine Erfahrung mit den gesundheitlichen Vorzügen der pflanzlichen Lebensmitteln. Wie ich schon im Artikel über die Bio-Individualität erwähnt habe, bin ich der Meinung, dass jeder Mensch unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse hat. Wenn wir uns nun allerdings die weltweit größten Gesundheits- und Ernährungsinstitutionen ansehen, empfehlen sie durchweg pflanzliche Lebensmitteln als die Basis, sprich 70-90 % unserer Ernährung. Lasst uns also nicht darüber diskutieren, welche (Protein-)Quellen wir als die letzten 10-20 % unserer Nahrung konsumieren. Aber lasst uns lieber über die Basis, den wichtigsten und größten Teil unserer aller Ernährung sprechen: Pflanzen. Und dabei möchte ich dich auch gerne an dein Bewusstsein für deine täglichen Mahlzeiten erinnern; was du täglich in deinen Körper hineinlässt; was letztlich mit dir, mit deinem ganzheitlichen System Eins wird.

„Dein Körper ist die größte Investition, die du je in deinem Leben machen wirst.
Missbrauche ihn nicht.“

 

 

 

 

~ Pflanzliche Lebensmittel: Was steckt drin‘? ~


Die Wissenschaft zeigt uns, dass die Nährstoffe in unserem Essen genau das sind, was unseren Körper versorgt und gesund erhält:

  • Wir haben einerseits die Makronährstoffe, das sind Kohlenhydrate, Eiweiße (Proteine) und Fette.
  • Auf der anderen Seite gibt es die Mikronährstoffe, dazu zählen Vitamine und Mineralstoffe beziehungsweise Spurenelemente.

Die Nährstoffdichte von pflanzlichen Lebensmitteln ist enorm hoch, wohingegen die Energiedichte („Kalorien“dichte) vergleichsweise niedrig ist. Das bedeutet, wir nehmen eine Menge an essentiellen, gesunden Substanzen zu uns ohne gleichzeitig überschüssige Energie/Kalorien aufzunehmen.

Hinzu kommt, dass Pflanzen sogar noch zwei weitere Gruppen an gesundheitsfördernden Stoffgruppen enthalten: Ballaststoffe und sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe.

  • Ballaststoffe: Sie sind für uns Menschen nicht oder nur teilweise verdaulich und zählen zu den komplexen Kohlenhydraten. Ballaststoffe finden wir nur in Pflanzen und sie sind für unseren Körper sehr, sehr vorteilhaft. Zum Beispiel unterstützen sie eine gesunde Verdauung, sie stimulieren die Speichelproduktion, was ja bereits der erste Schritt des Verdauungsprozesses ist; Ballaststoffe gleichen den Cholesterinspiegel im Blut aus, weil sie die Fähigkeit besitzen, überschüssiges Cholesterin im Darm zu binden und auszuscheiden.
  • Sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe: Das sind alle Farb-, Geruchs- und Geschmacksstoffe von Pflanzen, die sie zum Eigenschutz z.B. vor Fraßschädlingen oder zum Anlocken von Bestäubern produzieren. Diese Stoffe sind zwar keine Nährstoffe, haben allerdings eine Vielzahl an gesundheitsfördernden Wirkungen in unserem Körper. So wirken einige entzündungshemmend, anti-kanzerogen (krebshemmend), antioxidativ (zellschützend), antibakteriell, stoffwechselregulierend und und und … Somit kann man eigentlich sagen: Wenn du pflanzliche Lebensmittel isst, triffst du jedes Mal die Entscheidung, dich „aktiv“ vor Krankheiten zu schützen.

„Eure Nahrungsmittel sollen eure Heilmittel,
und eure Heilmittel sollen eure Nahrungsmittel sein.“
(Hippocrates)

Wenn wir also Pflanzen auseinandernehmen und auf ihre kleinsten Einheiten schauen, stellen wir fest, dass sie uns nicht nur mit Energie und Nährstoffen versorgen. Sie unterstützen Verdauung und Stoffwechsel und hydrieren unseren Körper durch ihren hohen Wassergehalt. Und der absolute Clue an der Sache: Du kannst dich mit pflanzlichen Lebensmitteln aktiv vor Krankheiten schützen, weil sie die einzige Quelle an den sekundären Pflanzenstoffen sind. Eine Quelle, die deine Zellen, dein Erbmaterial, deinen Organismus schützt. Man kann dabei im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes von Nahrungsmitteln sprechen, die das Potential haben, dich zu heilen.

 

 

 

 

~ Ernährung und Langlebigkeit ~


Schauen wir uns epidemiologische Studien an, dann können wir ganz deutlich bestimmte Bevölkerungsgruppen erkennen, die uns in Sachen Langlebigkeit um einiges voraus sind. Diese Leute genießen noch in ihren Achtzigern, Neunzigern und sogar in ihren über hundert Lebensjahren erstaunliche Lebensqualität. Hast du schon von den sogenannten „Blue zones“ gehört? Das sind global gesehen 5 Regionen, in denen Bevölkerungsgruppen leben, die von medizinischen Wissenschaftlern, Demographen und Anthropologen ziemlich genau studiert wurden/werden. Die Menschen in diesen Gebieten leben circa zehnmal länger als der westliche Durchschnittsbürger und sie beheimaten zehnmal mehr Hundertjährige als irgendeine andere Region auf Erden. Krankheit und (frühe) Sterblichkeit werden dort nicht als „normal“ angesehen, wie das in unserer Gesellschaft der Fall ist. Denn diese Menschen leben nicht nur unfassbar lange, sondern sind dazu in einem erstaunlich guten gesundheitlichen Zustand. Wo genau finden wir diese Populationen? Was sind diese „Blue zones“?

  • Okinawa (Japan)
  • Ogliastra (Sardinien/Italien)
  • Ikaria (Griechenland)
  • Nicoya (Costa Rica)
  • Loma Linda (Kalifornien)

Was sind nun die Gemeinsamkeiten dieser Bevölkerungsgruppen? Wie du dir denken kannst, möchte ich den Faktor Lebensqualität definitiv nicht auf einen einzigen Aspekt herunter brechen. Dazu zählen weit aus mehr Einflüsse. Aber lasst uns einen Blick auf ihre Gemeinsamkeiten in Sachen Ernährung werfen; denn dieser Faktor sticht mit eindeutigen Parallelen stark hervor.

Diese Menschen ernähren sich fast oder ganz ausschließlich von pflanzlicher Nahrung, basierend auf Gemüse, Getreide, Nüssen, Hülsenfrüchten und Früchten. Wenn wir z. B. auf die Bevölkerung von Okinawa schauen, ist deren überwiegende Kohlenhydrat- bzw. Stärkequelle die Süßkartoffel. Bohnen und Linsen sind quasi täglich Brot der Hundertjährigen. Im Durchschnitt besteht ihre Ernährung zu 95 % aus pflanzlichen Quellen. Ergänzend dazu essen sie gegebenenfalls kleine Mengen an Fisch oder anderen tierischen Lebensmittel. Raffinierte, verarbeitete Lebensmittel spielen so gut wie keine Rolle in ihrem Speiseplan (Appel, 2008; Mishra, 2009). Außerdem essen die Menschen nicht so viel wie wir es meist gewohnt sind bzw. fasten sie gegebenenfalls auch. Die Bevölkerung von Okinawa lebt in Sachen Ernährung nach einer uralten Weisheit, die besagt “Hara Hachi Bu”, was übersetzt soviel bedeutet wie „Höre auf zu essen, wenn du zu 80 % satt bist.“

Neben dem Essen leben sie alle nach einem Sinn, einer erfüllenden Aufgabe, die sie Tag für Tag führt und ihnen Motivation zum aufstehen schenkt. Diese Menschen pflegen starke Beziehungen zu Freunden und Familie. Sie bewegen sich täglich moderat, aber stetig über einen längeren Zeitraum. Genug Schlaf, eine tiefe Verbindung zur Natur – viele von ihnen bauen ihre eigenen Lebensmittel an – sowie ihre spirituellen Praktiken sind weitere Lebensfaktoren, die ich in dem Zusammenhang unbedingt erwähnen möchte.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Ernährung und Gesundheit ~


Beim Vergleich dieser „Blue zones“ mit unserer westlichen Gesellschaft stoßen wir auf offensichtliche Unterschiede, wenn es um Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden geht.

Wir stehen heute vor einer epidemischen Krise an chronischen Erkrankungen, vor allem in westlichen Staaten; aber auch immer mehr Schwellenländer sind davon betroffen. Alles beginnt mit Übergewicht, Adipositas und dem metabolischen Syndrom, die sozusagen als Vorreiter für eine Reihe weiterer Erkrankungen gelten: Diabetes, Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Gicht, Nicht-alkoholische Fettleber (NAFLD), Osteoporose, Verdauungsstörungen, Asthma und viele weitere Autoimmunerkrankungen und Gesundheitsprobleme. Bei all diesen Krankheiten kommen vorrangig der Lebensstil und die Ernährung mit ins Spiel.

“Symptome sind keine Feinde, die es zu bekämpfen gilt,
aber sie sind segensreiche Boten,
die uns dazu auffordern, mehr und besser auf uns zu schauen.“
(Jon Gabriel)

Lasst uns erneut auf die großen wissenschaftlichen Daten schauen, die aus Bevölkerungsuntersuchungen hervorgehen. Denn daraus lassen sich erneut Schlussfolgerungen und Korrelationen ziehen, die im Hinblick auf unterschiedliche Ernährungsformen und dem Gesundheitszustand eine eindeutige Sprache sprechen.

  • Fangen wir mit dem Körpergewicht, oder vielmehr dem BMI (Body-Mass-Index) an, der die Relation zwischen Körpergewicht und Körpergröße darstellt. Statistiken zeigen uns, dass Vegetarier einen niedrigeren BMI haben als Mischköstler. Veganer haben den niedrigsten BMI, der übrigens im Bereich des „Normalgewichts“ laut BMI eingeordnet wird. Das Risiko, im Kindesalter übergewichtig zu werden, ist unter den pflanzlichen Ernährungsformen deutlich niedriger als bei den anderen Kostformen (Spencer et al., 2003; Tonstad et al., 2009).
  • Die Sterblichkeitsrate ist in Bevölkerungsgruppen mit einer pflanzenbasierten Kost deutlich niedriger als unter Mischköstlern. Eine hohe Aufnahme von Protein aus tierischen Nahrungsmitteln geht mit einer erhöhten Sterblichkeitsrate einher, während der Verzehr von Protein aus pflanzlichen Quellen in negativer Korrelation (invers) mit der Sterblichkeitsrate steht. Das wurde in einer Untersuchung an Probanden festgestellt, die zumindest einem „ungesunden“ Lebensstilfaktor (z. B. Rauchen, Übergewicht, etc.) nachgehen (Song et al., 2016).
  • Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen stehen in Verbindung mit ungünstigen Ernährungsgewohnheiten, Bewegungsmangel und Tabakkonsum. Ihr Auftreten korreliert mit einer hohen Zufuhr an gesättigten Fettsäuren, Salz, raffinierten Kohlenhydraten (Zucker, Weißmehlprodukte) und einer geringen Zufuhr an Obst und Gemüse (WHO/FAO, 2002). Vegetarier und Veganer haben einen gesünderen Blutdruck, das heißt, niedriger als der von Mischköstlern, und ein um 29 % geringeres Risiko, an koronaren Herzerkrankungen zu erkranken. In der Studie Lifestyle Heart Trial konnten 82 % der Patienten, die mit einer Herzkrankheit diagnostiziert wurden, unter einer vollwertigen, pflanzenbasierten Ernährung mit moderater Fettaufnahme (10 % der Energiezufuhr) ihren Zustand der verengten Gefäße deutlich verbessern; manche konnten ihre Erkrankung alleine durch die Ernährungsumstellung sogar komplett rückgängig machen (Tuso et al., 2013).
  • Außerdem konnte gezeigt werden, dass Diabetes seltener unter Vegetariern und Veganern vorkommt. Außerdem, dass Diabetes-Patienten durch eine vollwertig-pflanzliche, fettmoderate Ernährung ihre Medikamenten einstellen konnten (Barnard et al., 2006).

Das ist nur ein kleiner Überblick über die Vielfalt an vorliegenden Daten und Fakten zu unserer weltweiten Ernährungs- und Gesundheitssituation. Und was ich auch nochmal an der Stelle betonen möchte: Sich vegetarisch oder „vegan“ (pflanzlich) zu ernähren bedeutet nicht gleichzeitig, dass man sich gesund ernährt. Es geht um eine vollwertige, pflanzenbasierte, unverarbeitete, biologische Frischkost, die erst wirklich für qualitativen Wert in Sachen Ernährung spricht.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Fazit: Essen und körperliches Wohlbefinden ~


Unser Essen beeinflusst jeden einzelnen von uns, denn wir stehen Tag für Tag zwei oder dreimal vor der Entscheidung, was wir in unseren Körper hineinlassen. Diese Nahrung beeinflusst unser komplettes System. Auch, wenn es bestimmt nicht der einzige Faktor ist, der auf unsere Gesundheit, Wohlbefinden, Lebensdauer, Leistung, Konzentration, usw. einwirkt. Es ist dennoch ein sehr wichtiger Einflussfaktor. Mit einem kleinen Blick auf die wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse kann man sehr eindeutliche Schlussfolgerungen ziehen, wenn es um die Gesundheit unserer Bevölkerung geht; und dabei hat eine pflanzenbasierte Vollwertkost im Vergleich zu anderen nicht-pflanzlich betonten Ernährungsformen deutlich die Nase vorn.

Bewusste Entscheidungen in Sachen Ernährung zu treffen ist eine bereichernde Investition in deinen Körper, deinen Geist, deine gesamte Gesundheit, dein Umfeld und die nachfolgenden Generationen. Je mehr Verbindung du zu deinem Essen hast, desto bewusster wirst du dir darüber, wie diese Lebensmittel deinen Körper, Geist, Emotionen – dein komplettes Sein – beeinflussen.

Ernährung ist nicht dazu da, um für uns ein Dogma, eine eingeschränkte Diät, eine Religion oder sonstiges Extrem zu werden. Unser Nahrung dient dazu, uns zu nähren, um von uns genossen zu werden und um unser Wohlbefinden zu steigern; um das innere Körpergefühl zu einer viel tiefgründigeren, wunderschönen Erfahrung zu machen. Also: genieße dein Essen, was auch immer du essen möchtest. Aber entscheide weise; entscheide auf Basis und in Einklang mit deinen Werten, nach deinem inneren Bauchgefühl und mit Bedacht auf deine eigenen Erfahrungen.

Ich wünsche dir aus Herzen nur das Beste!

Alles Liebe & Namasté,

deine Isabel!

 

 

Literatur

Appel L.J. Dietary Patterns and Longevity – Expanding the Blue Zones. Circulation (2008). Vol. 118: 214-215.

Barnard N.D., Cohen J., Jenkins D.J.A., Turner-McGrievy G., Gloede L., Jaster B., Seidl K., Green, A.A., Talpers S. A Low-Fat Vegan Diet Improves Glycemic Control and Cardiovascular Risk Factors in a Randomized Clinical Trial in Individuals With Type 2 Diabetes. Diabetes Care  (2006). Vol. 29: 1777–1783.

Mishra B.N. Secret of Eternal Youth; Teaching from the Centenarian Hot Spots (“Blue Zones”). Indian Journal of Community Medicine (2009). Vol. 34(4): 273-275.

Song M., Fung T.T., Hu F.B., Willett W.C., Longo V., Chan A.T., Giovannucci E.L. Animal and plant protein intake and all-cause and cause-specific mortality: results from two prospective US cohort studies. JAMA Intern Med (2016). Vol. 176(10): 1453-1463.

Spencer E.A., Appleby P.N., Davey G.K., Key T.J. Diet and body mass index in 38000 EPIC-Oxford meat-eaters, fish-eaters, vegetarians and vegans. International Journal of Obesity (2003). Vol. 27: 728-734.

Tonstad S., Butler T., Yan R., and Fraser G.E. Type of Vegetarian Diet, Body Weight, and Prevalence of Type 2 Diabetes. Diabetes Care (2009). Vol. 32: 791– 796.

Tuso P.J., Ismail M.H., Ha B.P., Cartolotto C. Nutritional Update for Physicians: Plant-Based Diets. The Permanente Journal (2013). Vol. 17(2): 61-66.

WHO/FAO, 2002. Diet, nutrition and the prevention of chronic diseases: report of a joint WHO/FAO expert consultation: p81.

One thought on “Pflanzenbasierte Ernährung #2 | Körperliche Gesundheit”

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Holistic Health

Lasst uns gut sein zum Körper, damit die Seele gerne in ihm wohne.
(Theresa von Ávila)

Isabel Maria

Mindset

Unsere Gedanken erschaffen unsere Realität. 
(Dieter Broers)