Ayurveda | An introduction to the science of life

My personal approach to life is a holistic one, as I perceive overall health and well-being on a physical and mental level as important as the path of self-realization and spirituality. Plus, I’m a big advocate for the concept of Bio-Individuality, which refers to every single person having their very unique needs when it comes to nutrition and lifestyle.

Embarking on my own health journey, trying to evolve with body, mind, and spirit in order to become my best version, I came across many different guidelines and approaches to health. The plant-based lifestyle has been my personal choice out of ethical, ecological and social reasons, while I’ve already been experiencing holistic benefits with this transition. I first came across Ayuverda during the beginning of my yoga practice as well as my studies in nutritional science, as this ancient Indian health system is closely linked to Yoga. I instantly became engrossed in this topic, yet neglected to study Ayurveda later on as it did not completely match with my personal preferred raw dominated vegan nutrition. However, during my very first visit to India to complete the Yoga Teacher Training, Ayurveda became more present in my life again, arousing my interest on a whole other level. Even more so when I realized its totally holistic and individual approach as well as its deep connection to Yoga.

This article will give you a basic idea of what Ayurveda is all about – and I’d like to start with one beautiful definition, which describes all aspects of this system in a nutshell:

“Ayurveda is a consciousness based holistic approach to health.”

 

 

 

 

 

~ What is Ayurveda? ~


Tracing back at least 5.000 years ago to ancient India, Ayurveda, as the oldest health system in the entire world, was born. Breaking this word apart, it means “Science of life”:

  • ayur = life
  • veda = knowledge (science)

It evolved from the ancient Rishis, spiritual enlightened prophets, who wrote the Vedas or as you can call it the “books of wisdom.” It is conceived that their knowledge was obtained directly from the universe, as it had been passed down for centuries across generations from mouth to mouth before it was written down for the first time. Generally speaking, Ayurveda is based upon the Indian philosophical, psychological and medicinal understandings. This knowledge influenced many other health care systems, such as the Traditional Chinese Medicine.

Ayurveda is not only about nutrition. It includes the whole lifestyle and is interconnected with the rather spiritual practice of Yoga. Therefore, everything you practice for your health and physical well-being is rather related to Ayurveda, whereas your practice on spiritual growth and enlightenment relates to Yoga. Only when your body, as the base of your holistic system, thrives in a state of health, will you be able to open the door for your higher desires.

The key purpose of this integrated health system is achieving mind-body balance while it specifically focuses on maintaining a healthy, long life, but also offers therapeutic approaches to heal physical issues – or “imbalances”. It integrates medical science with psychology, philosophy as well as spirituality and sees every single person as a microcosm of the big universe in all its complexity. Thus, we can’t expect a one size fits all recommendation from an Ayurvedic practitioner. Rather, they will perceive you in a very individual and unique way. as a multidimensional being. On the base of that, they will give you very specific recommendations according to your personal mind-body type.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Doshas: The three Mind-Body Types ~


Ayurveda bases upon the earth’s natural elements that we originate with our senses, which are fire, water, earth, air, and ether (space). According to Ayurveda, these elements do not only exist on the planet, but they also represent our physical body and mental state of being. For example, the heat of fire might represent a strong, powerful will as well as a strong digestion and metabolism; the grounding earth is reflected in a calm, caring, grand-motherly kind of person, whereas wind and space is mirrored in a creative mind, but on a physical level, for example, with gas in the colon (bloating).

Ayurveda makes up the three so-called “Doshas”, which include these five elements and refer to our personal mind-body type. However, each of us carries all aspects of these elements within as they govern certain functions of our bodies, all to different degrees. We tend to have one or two predominant doshas. But first of all, let’s have a look at the three types of Doshas:

  • Vata: is comprised of the elements air + ether (space)
  • Pitta: is comprised of the elements fire + water
  • Kapha: is comprised of the elements earth + water

 

 

 

Typical characteristics of the Dosha Vata are dryness, cold, lightness, roughness and mobility.

  • It regulates the nervous system and is responsible for all movements within the body.
  • A typical Vata person has a lean body and a creative mind.
  • An imbalanced Vata leads to digestive issues (bloating, constipation), anxiety, irregular period, weight loss, etc.

 

 

 

The fiery Pitta Dosha is hot, sharp, oily, liquid and light as well.

Its primary task in the body is the digestive tract, nutrient absorption, and metabolism, therefore standing for transformation.

A typical Pitta person has an athletic body and an ambitious mind.

If Pitta is out of balance, symptoms like feeling hot all the time, excess sweat, heartburn, diarrhea, etc. are likely to occur.

 

 

 

The earthy Dosha Kapha is regarded as heavy, slow, cold, oily, soft and dense.

  • Kapha relates to your bone density, fat regulation, strength and stamina.
  • A typical Kapha person has a rounded body and a peaceful state of mind.
  • Imbalanced Kapha symptoms are weight gain, clammy hands, lethargy, mucus, asthma, swelling, infections and water retention.

 

 

 

 

 

 ~ Ayurvedic Nutrition ~


When it comes to nutrition, our ability to digest food plays the key role in Ayurveda. We would not say “You are what you eat”, but rather “You are what you digest.” There is an important term relating to our digestive power or literally our digestive fire, which is called Agni. It represents our ability to digest, assimilate and metabolize the food we eat.  If your Agni is strong, you’ll digest your food properly. If it is depleted, you’ll start accumulating toxins in your body, referred to as Ama. Thus, we can relate Agni to the Pitta Dosha or the fire element.

Your whole body, health, and further well-being start with digestion, as everything you eat will finally turn into your physical body and impact your mental and emotional state.

“If diet is wrong, medicine is of no use.
If diet is correct, medicine is of no need.”
(Ayurvedic proverb)

In contrast to the western-science based approach, Ayurveda does not break down foods into calories and certain nutrients but is more concerned about their energy and the maintenance of an equilibrium. Furthermore, it recommends certain types of foods to certain types of people, according to their Dosha. Regardless, you’ll always be recommended to eat those types of foods related to the Dosha you’re currently imbalanced in. It aims to keep your digestive fire running to a certain balanced degree in order to benefit from all the nutrients you’re consuming.

For example, as Vata people are naturally dry, cold and mobile, they require foods with the opposite qualities in order to reach a state of balance. That means sweet and nourishing fruits, cooked veggies, starchy foods such as sweet potatoes and grains, not too many legumes (mung beans and tofu should be preferred), as well as healthy fats, like any types of raw nuts and seeds as well as oils. Vatas need more grounding, heavy food on a very regular basis.

A Pitta person with this strong digestive fire should choose juicy, sweet and astringent fruits, but avoid sour ones. They thrive on sweet and bitter veggies, a good amount of protein from legumes and can also handle whole grains. Fat sources should come from whole plants, such as nuts and seeds, rather than from refined oils.

Kaphas do well on intermittent fasting and plenty of raw foods in their diet. As they are naturally dense, heavy, oily and sweet in energy, their foods should be rather light and stimulating, with a good amount of spices. Veggies comprise the center of their diet and sweet, dry fruits should be avoided as well as heavier sources, such as oils or large portions of starches. Legumes are great for Kaphas and nuts only soaked in small amounts.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Lifestyle practices ~


What I also love about this Eastern approach to overall health and well-being is something I’ve already been naturally incorporating into my day-to-day life: routines. Each of us can practice Ayurveda on a daily basis by setting up their daily schedule so that they’re able to eat, digest, sleep, work, exercise and live your fullest potential simply by following their natural Doshic rhythms.

“Lifestyle is not an amount; it’s a practice.”
(Jim Rohn)

Following a morning routine that elevates your energies will prime you for the entire day. If you, for example, start your day hurrying after your alarm clock, you’ll find yourself instantly in an out-of-balance state consisting of unawareness, autopilot and reactivity, which agitates you for the rest of the day. In contrast, if you start your day with healthy habits for your body and mind, you’ll cultivate physical and mental balance and sense this inner peace, tranquility and resilience throughout your day.

I personally include oil pulling, tongue scraping, drinking water and exercising as well as a pranayama and meditation practice in my daily morning routine. Yes – it is a matter of priority. And No – you don’t need to extend your morning routine up to 2 or 3 hours. But taking a little time for yourself, your body and mind in the morning, will mirror your overall behavior and being for the rest of the day.

“It is about the little things you do every single day,
not about these huge, extraordinary things you do once in a while.”

Moreover, Ayurveda provides recommendations in regards to what time you should opt to do certain activities as well as eating certain foods, respectively. This refers to our 24 hour rhythm, which is also related to the Doshas Vata, Pitta and Kapha.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Ayurveda & Spirituality ~


Thinking of a health care system on the one hand and spirituality, on the other hand, we perceive these as two opposites at first glance. However, this conscious approach to health makes Ayurveda unique, as it blends these two disciplines in a very harmonious way and creates a complete healing system.  

“Ayurveda is a spiritual medicine,
recognizing the phenomenal intelligence in every grain, every seed,
all life and every living thing.”

Seeking a physically healthy state of balance is the foremost base for getting in touch with your spiritual desires. Ayurveda says that there is a purpose for life, that each physically and mentally healthy person is becoming in-tune with their internal desire and is working hard to strive towards it. Thus, purposefulness in life is an achievement everyone wants to obtain. In contrast, a purposeless and meaningless life creates suffering, imbalance and eventually physical and mental disorders.

Even before illnesses manifest in form of symptoms, we actually can feel them on a subtle level. This happens due to so-called energetic layers, which surround our physical body. If something feels “off”, these energy layers expose a kind of calling or rather a sign before the disorder or disease gets manifested physically.

Especially in our modern world, where most of us perceive stress and the hustle-and-bustle of life as something completely “normal”, Ayurveda can guide us beautifully on the road of becoming better in-tuned with our holistic Self in order to gain overall health. And this holistic approach does not treat a symptom on the surface of its physical manifestation, but it goes far deep into the non-visible, energetic levels.

 

 

 

 

 ~ Conclusion: Ayurveda as a holistic approach to health ~


In conclusion, Ayurveda as the globally oldest system of health, approaches each individual in a unique and personalized way. It origins from ancient India and is seen as the sister science of Yoga. Your body, mind and spirit are targeted equally. It is basically built upon the five elements air, space, fire, water and earth.

I myself do have a western based scientific background and am only now starting to learn more and more about the Eastern approaches to health. I definitely do not intend to place one of these systems on a pedestal and neglect or even downgrade another one, as I absorb so much precious information in each of them. Thus, I’d rather like to combine knowledge and wisdom from both parts, to cherry-pick all the golden nuggets from each approach and share my knowledge and own experiences with the world – with all of you.

“Knowledge comes from learning. Wisdom comes from living.”
(Anthony Douglas Williams)

What I personally love about Ayurveda, beside the concept of bio-individuality and its body-mind-spirit approach, is its intertwining with the rhythm of nature. A daily schedule, which includes healthy habits and routines, has given me an anchor for balancing myself day by day. Although taking time for yourself might be an act of discipline in the beginning – at some point you’ll get so much out of it, you’ll literally feel so different from the inside out, that you sense the urge to stick to those routines…as they serve you more and more.

Thank you, dears, for listening to my message today.

Sending you a big hug & sunshine from my heart!

Namasté,

yours Isabel! 

 

 

Literature

Ketabi S.R., Chopra D. Ayurveda (Idiot’s Guides). Alpha (2017), 1stedition.

2 thoughts on “Ayurveda | An introduction to the science of life”

  1. Thank you, dearest Isabel, for shining your light on this beautiful deep topic of Ayurveda. You depict the topic in a lovely, soul-touching way and leave one wanting to know more.
    Beautifully written, cannot wait to read more! <3

    Namaste,

    Nour

    1. Thank YOU, my dearest friend! You can’t imagine (or probably YOU do!) how it feels to share what moves you mostly with the world and get such a beautiful feedback like yours in return! <3
      Thanks for your lovely comment on this article. I’ll focus more and more on Ayurveda and Yoga in my up-coming texts as these two intertwined topics depict the entire message that I wanna share: holistic health & conscious living.

      Sending you lots of love & a tight hug, Nour.

      Namasté,
      Isabel!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Holistic Health

Be friendly to your body so that the soul enjoys living in it. 
(Theresa von Ávila)

Isabel Maria

Mindset

Our thoughts create our reality.
(Dieter Broers)

Ayurveda | Eine Einführung in die Wissenschaft vom Leben

Meine persönliche Einstellung zum Leben ist eine ganzheitliche, denn meiner Meinung nach spielt das körperliche sowie das mentale Wohlbefinden eine ebenbürtige Rolle wie der Pfad der Selbstverwirklichung und Spiritualität. Nur dann kann man wahre Gesundheit manifestieren. Außerdem bin ich ein großer Verfechter von dem Konzept der Bio-Individualität, bei dem jeder einzelne Mensch mit individuellen Bedürfnissen in Sachen Ernährung und Lebensstil betrachtet wird.

Während meiner eigenen Reise auf dem Weg zur ganzheitlichen Gesundheit, auf der ich physisch, mental sowie spirituell zu wachsen versuche und nach meiner besten Version strebe, stieß ich auf viele verschiedene Ansätze und Konzepte. Der pflanzenbasierte Lebensstil war meine persönliche Entscheidung, die ich aus ethisch, ökologisch und sozial motiviertem Motiv heraus getroffen habe. Damit konnte ich bereits ganzheitliche Benefits erfahren. Als ich mit Yoga anfing und zur selben Zeit Ernährungswissenschaften studierte, stieß ich schon vor ein paar Jahren auf Ayurveda; vor allem, weil diese uralte indische Heilmethode sehr eng mit Yoga verwandt ist. Ich war anfangs sofort fasziniert von den Theorien und Praktiken, habe es mit der Zeit aber wieder vernachlässigt, denn eigentlich hat es mit meiner leidenschaftlichen Rohkost-dominanten pflanzlichen Ernährung nicht so ganz harmoniert. Jedenfalls habe ich durch meinen ersten Aufenthalt in Indien, während des Yoga Teacher Trainings dieses Jahr, wieder zu Ayurveda zurückgefunden. Und nun zieht es erneut meine volle Aufmerksamkeit auf sich, weshalb ich diesem Gefühl nachgehen möchte. Vor allem bin ich von diesem holistischen und individuellen Ansatz von Ayurveda beeindruckt und nicht zuletzt von seiner tiefgründigen Verbindung zu Yoga.

Dieser Artikel gibt dir einen ersten Eindruck darüber, was Ayurveda überhaupt ist – und ich möchte mit einer sehr trefflichen und wie ich finde wunderschönen Definition starten, die all seine Aspekte kurz und knapp zusammenfasst:

„Ayurveda ist ein auf Bewusstsein basierender, ganzheitlicher Ansatz, der nach Balance und Gesundheit strebt.“

 

 

 

 

 

~ Was ist Ayurveda? ~


Gehen wir mind. 5.000 Jahre ins alte Indien zurück: zu dieser Zeit hat sich Ayurveda als das älteste Gesundheitssystem der gesamten Erde entwickelt. Wenn wir den Begriff auseinandernehmen, bedeutet er soviel wie „die Wissenschaft vom Leben“:

  • ayur = Leben
  • veda = Wissen (Wissenschaft)

Gründer dieses Konzeptes waren die alten Rishis, das sind spirituell „erleuchtete“ Propheten, welche die Vedas („Bücher der Weisheit“) geschrieben haben. Es wird angenommen, dass ihnen das Wissen direkt vom Universum zugeschickt wurde und dieses über Jahrhunderte von Generation zu Generation via Mundpropaganda weitergegeben wurde. Erst später wurde es schriftlich festgehalten. Ganz allgemein gesagt basiert Ayurveda auf der indischen Philosophie, Psychologie und Medizin. Dieses Wissen beeinflusste viele andere Gesundheitssysteme, wie z.B. die Traditionelle Chinesische Medizin (TCM).

In Ayurveda geht es nicht nur um die Ernährung, sondern um den gesamten Lebensstil und seine Verbindung zum spirituellen Pfad von Yoga. Das heißt, alles was du für deine Gesundheit und dein Wohlbefinden tust, bezieht sich auf Ayurveda, während deine spirituelle Praxis dem Yoga zugeordnet ist. Denn erst, wenn der Körper als Basis deines ganzheitlichen Systems (Seins) bei bester Gesundheit ist, erst dann kannst du die Tore für deine höheren Bedürfnisse öffnen.

Das wesentliche Ziel dieses integrativen Gesundheitssystems liegt darin, eine Balance zwischen Körper und Geist herzustellen und aufrecht zu erhalten. Dabei liegt der Fokus auf der Erhaltung eines gesunden, langen Lebens, aber gleichzeitig liefert es auch therapeutische Ansätze, um körperliche Beschwerden bzw. „Ungleichgewichte“ auszubalancieren. Medizin wird mit Psychologie, Philosophie sowie Spiritualität verknüpft und jede einzelne Person wird als ein Mikrokosmos, ein Teil des gesamten Universums in seiner ganzen Komplexität, betrachtet. Demnach wirst du von keinem Ayurveda-Arzt/Berater eine bestimmte Ernährungsform für jedermann an die Hand bekommen; er wird dich vielmehr ganz individuell begutachten und auf Basis deiner persönlichen Konstitution gezielt Empfehlungen aussprechen.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Doshas: Die drei Konstitutionstypen ~


Laut Ayurveda basiert alles auf den natürlichen Elementen unserer Erde, die wir sensorisch wahrnehmen können. Das sind Feuer, Wasser, Erde, Wind und Äther (Raum). Nicht nur unser Planet besteht aus diesen Elementen, sondern auch unsere körperliche Erscheinung sowie unser mentale Zustand können an Hand dieser beschrieben werden. Zum Beispiel würde die Hitze des Feuers einen starken, zielorientierten Willen repräsentieren sowie eine rasche Verdauung und Stoffwechsel; das erdende Element wird mit einem ruhigen, fürsorglichen Gemüt in Verbindung gebracht – an eine liebevolle Großmutter erinnernd -, wohingegen sich die Elemente Wind und Raum in einem kreativen Geist, aber auch auf körperliche Ebene z.B. in Form von Luft im Darm (Blähungen) widerspiegeln.

Ayurveda spricht von drei sogenannten „Doshas“, welche diese 5 Elemente beinhalten und sich auf unsere persönliche Körper-Geist-Konstitution beziehen. Allerdings tragen wir all diese Aspekte in uns, weil sie schließlich bestimmte Aufgaben in unserem Körper übernehmen, nur zu unterschiedlichen Anteilen. Meist sind es ein oder zwei Doshas, die sich in uns als dominant erkenntlich machen. Aber schauen wir uns zuerst einmal die 3 Doshas an:

  • Vata: besteht aus den Elementen Wind + Äther (Raum)
  • Pitta: besteht aus den Elementen Feuer + Wasser
  • Kapha: besteht aus den Elementen Erde + Wasser

 

 

 

Klassische Charakteristika des Doshas Vata sind Trockenheit, Kälte, Leichtigkeit, Rauheit und Beweglichkeit.

  • Vata reguliert das Nervensystem und ist für alle Bewegungsabläufe im Körper verantwortlich.
  • Eine typische Vata-Person hat einen schlanken Körperbau und einen kreativen Geist.
  • Ist dieser Doshatyp im Ungleichgewicht, so hat die Person mit Verdauungsbeschwerden (Blähungen, Obstipation), Ängstlichkeit, Menstruationsunregelmäßigkeiten, Gewichtsverlust, usw. zu kämpfen.

 

 

 

Das feurige Pitta-Dosha wird auch mit den Eigenschaften heiß, scharf(sinnig), ölig, flüssig und auch leicht verbunden.

Pitta reguliert vorrangig die Verdauung, die Nährstoffaufnahme und den Stoffwechsel in unserem Körper, steht somit für Transformationsprozesse.

Der klassische Pitta-Typ hat einen athletischen Körper und eine ehrgeizigen, zielstrebigen Geist.

Gerät Pitta aus dem Gleichgewicht, treten Symptome wie Hitzewallungen, übermäßiges Schwitzen, Sodbrennen, Durchfall, etc. auf.

 

 

 

 

Das „erdende“ Dosha Kapha wird als eher schwer, langsam, kalt, ölig, weich und dicht beschrieben.

  • Kapha bezieht sich auf deine Knochendichte, den Fettstoffwechsel, Festigkeit und Ausdauer.
  • Eine typische Kapha-Person hat einen wohl geformten Körper und ein friedliches Gemüt.
  • Symptome eines Kapha-Ungleichgewichts sind beispielsweise Gewichtszunahme, klamme Hände, Lethargie, Schleimbildung, Asthma, Schwellungen, Infektionsanfälligkeit und Wasseransammlungen.

 

 

 

 

 

 ~ Ayurvedische Ernährung ~


Wenn es um Ernährung geht, legt Ayurveda ein ganz besonderes Augenmerk auf die Fähigkeit, Nahrung zu verdauen. Man würde nicht sagen „Du bist, was du isst“, sondern vielmehr „Du bist, was du verdaust.“ In dem Zusammenhang gibt es im Ayurveda einen bestimmten Begriff unserer Verdauungskraft bzw. im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes des „Verdauungsfeuers“. Dieser beschreibt die Fähigkeit der Verdauung, Assimilation und Verstoffwechselung unserer Nahrung: das sogenannte Agni. Wenn dein Agni stark ist und alles problemlos verarbeiten kann, dann verdaust du dein Essen auch ordentlich. Wenn es allerdings erschöpft und nur eingeschränkt vorhanden ist, dann akkumulieren unerwünschte Stoffe in deinem Körper, die als Ama bezeichnet werden. Wir können Agni also mit dem Pitta-Dosha vergleichen bzw. gleichsetzen – das Feuer-Element.

Dein gesamter Körper, deine Gesundheit und weiterführend dein Wohlbefinden beginnt im Darm, mit deiner Verdauung. Schließlich wird alles, was du isst letzten Endes zu deinem eigenen Körper und beeinflusst deine mentale sowie emotionale Befindlichkeit.

„Wenn die Ernährung falsch ist, kann keine Medizin helfen.
Wenn die Ernährung richtig ist, wird keine Medizin benötigt.“
(Ayurveda Proverb)

Im Gegensatz zu dem westlichen, wissenschaftsbasierten Ansatz reduziert Ayurveda unsere Lebensmittel nicht auf Kalorien und bestimmte Nährstoffe, sondern betrachtet diese vielmehr mit aus einer energetischen Perspektive. Dabei wird geschaut, wie sie unseren Körper hinsichtlich der Balance beeinträchtigen. Außerdem werden bestimmte Lebensmittel/-kombinationen für deinen jeweiligen Konstitutionstypen empfohlen. Dir werden allerdings immer jene Speisen empfohlen, welche das Ungleichgewicht deines jeweiligen Dosha-Typs wieder harmonisieren. Dein Verdauungsfeuer soll aufrecht erhalten werden, sodass du von den aufgenommenen Nährstoffen letztlich auch profitieren kannst.

Vata-Typen neigen zum Beispiel von Natur aus zu Trockenheit, Kältegefühl und sind viel in Bewegung. Deshalb benötigen sie Lebensmittel mit den gegenteiligen Qualitäten, um wieder ein Gleichgewicht herzustellen. Das bedeutet süße und nahrhafte Früchte, gekochtes Gemüse, stärkehaltige Produkte, wie z.B. die Süßkartoffel und Getreide; dagegen sollten sie nicht zu viele Hülsenfrüchte essen (Mungobohnen und Tofu sind am besten geeignet). Ebenso wichtig sind gesunde Fette, beispielsweise aus rohen Nüssen und Samen. Vatas brauchen mehr erdende, schwere Lebensmittel und sollten in regelmäßigen Abständen essen, um die Balance aufrecht zu halten.

Eine Pitta-Person mit dem starken Verdauungsfeuer sollte fruchtig-süße und adstringierende (zusammenziehende) Früchte bevorzugen, dafür saures Obst meiden. Sie kommen bestens mit süßen und bitterem Gemüse aus, benötigen ausreichend Protein – können Hülsenfrüchte auch problemlos verdauen – sowie vollwertiges Getreide. Fett sollte vielmehr aus vollwertigen Quellen (Nüsse, Samen) als von raffinierten Ölen kommen.

Kaphas kommen beispielsweise gut mit intermittierendem Fasten zurecht und können sich betont rohköstlich-pflanzlich ernähren. Da sie die Eigenschaftlichen dicht, schwer, ölig und süß natürlicherweise schon mitbringen, sollte ihre Lebensmittelauswahl eher leicht und stimulierend sein, d.h. mit einer Vielzahl an Gewürzen. Gemüse sollte den überwiegenden Anteil ihrer Ernährung ausmachen und süße, trockene Früchte sowie schwere Nahrungsmittel (Fette/Öle, größere Mengen an Stärke/Getreide) sollten eher gemieden werden. Hülsenfrüchte sind ebenfalls eine gute Quelle für Kapha-Typen und Nüsse werden nur in kleinen Mengen, am besten eingeweicht, empfohlen.

 

 

 

 

 

~ Lebensstil nach Ayurveda ~


Was ich an dem fernöstlichen bzw. ayurvedischen Gesundheitsansatz auch sehr schätze, sind die empfohlenen Routinen. Denn diese habe ich eigentlich schon seit Längerem intuitiv in mein Leben integriert. Jeder von uns kann Ayurveda Tag für Tag praktizieren, wenn wir einem täglichen Rhythmus nachgehen, der mit dem natürlichen Dosha-Rhytmus im Einklang ist: das bedeutet, dass wir  zu den natürlich dafür vorgesehenen Zeiten essen, verdauen, schlafen, arbeiten, Sport treiben und dadurch unser volles Potential ausschöpfen können.

„Dein Lebensstil ist eine tägliche Praxis.“

Eine Morgenroutine kann dich hervorragend für den bevorstehenden Tag vorbereiten. Wenn du dich dagegen morgens nach dem Wecker-läuten aus dem Bett hetzt, wirst du dich wahrscheinlich eher „unzentriert“ fühlen; dann schaltet sich sofort dein Autopilot ein, der Zustand des Unbewusstseins sowie der Reaktionsmodus, welche dich den Tag über mit Unruhe und Unstimmigkeiten begleiten werden. Wenn du dir aber gesunde Gewohnheiten für Körper und Geist am Morgen zur Routine machst, wirst du diese innere Ruhe, Zufriedenheit und Resilienz den Tag über auch wahrnehmen können.

Ich persönlich zum Beispiel habe das Ölziehen, die Zungenreinigung, Wasser zu trinken, Training/Sport sowie die tägliche Pranayama- und Meditationspraxis zu meiner Morgenroutine gemacht. Ja – es ist definitiv eine Frage der Priorität. Und Nein – du musst diese morgendlichen Gewohnheiten nicht auf 2 Stunden oder länger ausdehnen. Aber dir ein klein wenig Zeit für dich, deinen Körper und Geist zu nehmen, wird sich definitiv auf dein Verhalten und deinen Gemütszustand für den restlichen Tag auswirken.

„Es geht um die kleinen Dinge, die du jeden einzelnen Tag machst,
nicht um die enorm großen, außergewöhnlichen Dinge, die du nur gelegentlich tust.“

Außerdem gibt dir Ayurveda auch Empfehlungen an die Hand, zu welchen Zeitpunkten du bevorzugt aktive/passive Dinge tun oder bestimmte Speisen essen solltest. Das geht auf den 24 Stunden-Rhytmus zurück, der auch auf die Doshas Data, Pitta, Kapha bezogen werden kann.

 

 

 

 

~ Ayurveda & Spiritualität ~


Wenn wir einerseits an Medizin und Gesundheit, andererseits aber an Spiritualität denken, dann sind diese zwei Dinge eher als Gegenteile in unseren Köpfen verankert. Was Ayurveda so besonders macht, ist sein „bewusstes“ Gesundheitskonzept, in dem diese zwei Disziplinen harmonisch miteinander vereint werden – das zeichnet es als komplettes Heilsystem aus.

„Ayurveda ist ein spirituelles Medizinsystem,
das der phänomenalen Intelligenz jedes Korns, jedes Samens,
jedes Lebens und lebendigen Wesens Beachtung schenkt.“

Ein körperlich gesunder Zustand von Gleichgewicht ist die absolute Basis dafür, um mit deinen höheren, spirituellen Bedürfnissen überhaupt erst in Kontakt zu kommen. Ayurveda sagt, dass wir alle eine Aufgabe im Leben haben und dass jede physisch und mental gesunde Person diesen inneren Ruf hören kann und ihm mit Wohlwollen nachgeht. Sinnhaftigkeit im Leben ist ein Zustand, nach dem wir alle streben. Im Gegensatz dazu sorgt ein sinnloses Leben für Leiden, für Ungleichgewicht und letztlich für körperliche und mentale Krankheiten.

Bevor eine Krankheit aber überhaupt erst eintritt, sind wir eigentlich schon dazu in der Lage, diese Unstimmigkeit auf einer feinstofflichen Ebene wahrzunehmen. Dieses intuitive Gefühl liegt an sogenannten energetischen Hüllen, die unseren Körper umgeben. Wenn sich etwas unstimmig anfühlt, bekommen wir durch diese Energien um uns schon ein Zeichen, dass wir einlenken sollen, bevor sich die Störung auf physischer Ebene manifestiert und letztlich offensichtlich als Krankheit zeigt.

Vor allem in unserer modernen Welt, in der die meisten von uns Stress und Hektik im Alltag als etwas vollkommen „normales“ bewerten, kann uns Ayurveda einen sehr schönen Pfad aufzeigen, auf dem wir wieder besser in uns hinein spüren und hören können; eine Verbindung zu unserem höheren Selbst aufbauen und zu ganzheitlicher Gesundheit finden können. Ayurveda behandelt nicht das Symptom an der Oberfläche, sondern dringt in die tieferen, nicht sichtbaren Ebenen unserer Energien ein.

 

 

 

 

 

 ~ Fazit: Ayurveda als ganzheitliches Gesundheitssystem ~


Zusammengefasst gesagt, ist Ayurveda das weltweit älteste Gesundheitssystem, das jedes Individuum als einzigartig betrachtet. Sein Ursprung liegt im alten Indien und er ist die Schwesterwissenschaft vom Yoga. Dein Körper, Geist und Seele werden ebenbürtig angesehen und es basiert im Prinzip auf den fünf Elementen Luft, Raum, Feuer, Wasser und Erde.

Ich selbst komme von dem westlichen, wissenschaftsbasierten Ansatz und lerne jetzt mehr und mehr über die fernöstlichen Konzepte zur Gesundheit. Ich möchte definitiv nicht ein einziges dieser System in die Höhe heben und das andere vernachlässigen oder gar abwerten, weil ich definitiv aus beiden wertvolles Wissen ziehen kann. Deshalb möchte ich das Wissen sowie die Weisheit dieser zwei Ansätze vielmehr miteinander kombinieren, die Essenz aus beiden System herausziehen, mit meiner eigenen Erfahrung abgleichen und all das mit der Welt – mit euch – teilen.

„Wissen kann man erlernen. Weisheit kann man nur leben.“
(Anthony Douglas Williams)

Was ich persönlich an Ayurveda besonders schätze, neben dem Konzept der Bio-Individualität und seinem ganzheitlichen Körper-Geist-Seele Ansatz, ist das Zusammenwirken mit den Rhythmen der Natur. Die täglichen Routinen, d.h. gesunde Gewohnheiten in den Tag einzubauen, sind für mich ein regelrechter Anker im Leben, um mein Gleichgewicht aufrecht zu erhalten. Auch wenn es zu Beginn vielleicht etwas Disziplin kostet, sich Zeit für sich selbst zu nehmen – an einem gewissen Punkt wirst du so unendlich viel Energie daraus ziehen können; du wirst dich tatsächlich von innen heraus vollkommen neu geboren fühlen, dass dein Verlangen nach dieser regelmäßigen Selbstfürsorge ganz automatisch aufkommen wird…denn diese Praxis wird dir mehr und mehr dienen.

Danke, ihr Lieben, fürs Lesen meiner heutigen message.

Ich schicke dir eine große Umarmung & Sonnenschein direkt aus meinem Herzen!

Namasté,

deine Isabel! 

 

 

Literatur

Ketabi S.R., Chopra D. Ayurveda (Idiot’s Guides). Alpha (2017), 1stedition.

2 thoughts on “Ayurveda | Eine Einführung in die Wissenschaft vom Leben”

  1. Thank you, dearest Isabel, for shining your light on this beautiful deep topic of Ayurveda. You depict the topic in a lovely, soul-touching way and leave one wanting to know more.
    Beautifully written, cannot wait to read more! <3

    Namaste,

    Nour

    1. Thank YOU, my dearest friend! You can’t imagine (or probably YOU do!) how it feels to share what moves you mostly with the world and get such a beautiful feedback like yours in return! <3
      Thanks for your lovely comment on this article. I’ll focus more and more on Ayurveda and Yoga in my up-coming texts as these two intertwined topics depict the entire message that I wanna share: holistic health & conscious living.

      Sending you lots of love & a tight hug, Nour.

      Namasté,
      Isabel!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Holistic Health

Lasst uns gut sein zum Körper, damit die Seele gerne in ihm wohne.
(Theresa von Ávila)

Isabel Maria

Mindset

Unsere Gedanken erschaffen unsere Realität. 
(Dieter Broers)